Please place holds on items owned by the North Branford Public Libraries only. At this time, Atwater items can only be picked up at the Atwater Library and Smith items can only be picked up at the Smith Library.

 

The engineer's wife: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

"Historical fiction at its finest."--Andrea Bobotis, author of The Last List of Miss Judith

She built a monument for all time. Then she was lost in its shadow. Discover the fascinating woman who helped design and construct the Brooklyn Bridge. Perfect for fans of The Other Einstein.

Emily Roebling refuses to live conventionally--she knows who she is and what she wants, and she's determined to make change. But then her husband asks the unthinkable: give up her dreams to make his possible.

Emily's fight for women's suffrage is put on hold, and her life transformed when her husband Washington Roebling, the Chief Engineer of the Brooklyn Bridge, is injured on the job. Untrained for the task, but under his guidance, she assumes his role, despite stern resistance and overwhelming obstacles. But as the project takes shape under Emily's direction, she wonders whose legacy she is building--hers, or her husband's. As the monument rises, Emily's marriage, principles, and identity threaten to collapse. When the bridge finally stands finished, will she recognize the woman who built it?

Based on the true story of an American icon, The Engineer's Wifedelivers an emotional portrait of a woman transformed by a project of unfathomable scale, which takes her into the bowels of the East River, suffragette riots, the halls of Manhattan's elite, and the heady, freewheeling temptations of P.T. Barnum. The biography of a husband and wife determined to build something that lasts--even at the risk of losing each other.

Other Bestselling Historical Fiction from Sourcebooks Landmark: The Only Woman in the Roomby Marie Benedict Carnegie's Maidby Marie Benedict The Book Woman of Troublesome Creekby Kim Michele Richardson Sold on a Mondayby Kristina McMorris

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781492698135
9781492698142
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID2b86440b-c54f-d0cd-39f5-9d0165c4126b
Grouping Titleengineer s wife
Grouping Authorwood tracey enerson
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-07-05 08:51:57AM
Last Indexed2020-07-05 08:52:39AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorTracey Enerson Wood
author2-rolehoopla digital.
author_displayWood, Tracey Enerson
detailed_location_nbNorth Branford/Atwater Adult Fiction - New
display_description"When Emily Warren Roebling marries Captain Washington 'Wash' Roebling-the handsome, charming soldier of her dreams, and her brother's dear friend and aide during the Civil War-a lifetime of family fun and happiness seems within her grasp. But then Wash accepts the position as Chief Engineer on his father's magnum opus, the Brooklyn Bridge, and it changes both of their lives forever. In Brooklyn, the happy home they'd dreamed of warps around the bridge. Incapacitated from working in the high-pressure tanks at the bridge's foundations, Wash convinces Emily to be his messenger to the site. Little by little, Emily finds herself taking over the project-with no formal training or education in math and science. Emily throws herself into building the bridge butfaces suspicion and disparagement at every turn as she supervises dangerous construction sites and argues for the safety of the bridge amongst Manhattan's male elite. The Engineer's Wife delivers an emotional portrait of a woman transformed by a project of unfathomable scale, and of a husband and wife determined to build something that lasts--even at the risk of losing each other"--
format_category_nbBooks
eBook
format_nbBook
eBook
id2b86440b-c54f-d0cd-39f5-9d0165c4126b
isbn9781492698135
9781492698142
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:8a062dda-faae-4cd5-a8e3-71fd1e504c098Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:8a062dda-faae-4cd5-a8e3-71fd1e504c0917Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:8a062dda-faae-4cd5-a8e3-71fd1e504c09-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:8a062dda-faae-4cd5-a8e3-71fd1e504c094Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:8a062dda-faae-4cd5-a8e3-71fd1e504c0910Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:8a062dda-faae-4cd5-a8e3-71fd1e504c0915Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:8a062dda-faae-4cd5-a8e3-71fd1e504c0927Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:8a062dda-faae-4cd5-a8e3-71fd1e504c096Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:8a062dda-faae-4cd5-a8e3-71fd1e504c097Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:8a062dda-faae-4cd5-a8e3-71fd1e504c093Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:8a062dda-faae-4cd5-a8e3-71fd1e504c0926Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
ils:.b26440489.i64204157Guilford New Adult FictionFIC WOOD1falsefalseDue Jul 8, 2020gubf
ils:.b26440489.i64212312North Haven Adult New FictionNew Fiction Wood, Tracey Enerson1falsefalseOn Shelfnhafn
ils:.b26440489.i64111209Meriden New Adult FictionFIC WOOD1falsefalseDue Jun 22, 2020mebf
ils:.b26440489.i64177634Middlefield/Coe New Adult CollectionFIC HIS Wood1falsefalseDue Jul 20, 2020mlb
ils:.b26440489.i64116487North Branford/Atwater Adult Fiction - NewNew Fiction Wood1falsefalseDue Jun 23, 2020nbafn
ils:.b26440489.i64210376Orange/Case Adult Fiction BookNew Fiction Wood1falsefalseOn Shelforaf
ils:.b26440489.i64233303Wallingford NEW Adult FictionWOOD1falsefalseIn Processwabf
ils:.b26440489.o16881448East Lyme Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Orderelbf
ils:.b26440489.o16889927West Haven Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Orderwmooo
hoopla:MWT12773249Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12773249?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_nb14 DAY
ADULT BOOK
LEAP 28 Day Book
last_indexed2020-07-05T14:52:39.42Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_nbNew Fiction Wood
local_time_since_added_nbQuarter
Six Months
Year
owning_library_nbNorth Branford Libraries
owning_location_nbAtwater Memorial Library
primary_isbn9781492698135
publishDate2020
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:8a062dda-faae-4cd5-a8e3-71fd1e504c09eBookeBookEnglishSourcebooks2020
ils:.b26440489BookBooksEnglishSourcebooks Landmark, [2020]344 pages ; 24 cm.
hoopla:MWT12773249eBookeBookEnglishSourcebooks Inc, 2020.1 online resource
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_nb
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:8a062dda-faae-4cd5-a8e3-71fd1e504c09-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b26440489.i64204157Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26440489.i64212312On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26440489.i64111209Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26440489.i64177634Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26440489.i64116487Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b26440489.i64210376On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26440489.i64233303Coming SoonIn Processfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26440489.o16881448On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b26440489.o16889927On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12773249Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetBiographical fiction
Brooklyn Bridge (New York, N.Y.) -- Fiction
Electronic books
Roebling, Emily Warren, -- 1843-1903 -- Fiction
Roebling, Washington Augustus, -- 1837-1926 -- Fiction
title_displayThe engineer's wife : a novel
title_fullThe Engineer's Wife A Novel
The engineer's wife : a novel / Tracey Enerson Wood
The engineer's wife : a novel [electronic resource] / Tracey Enerson Wood
title_shortThe engineer's wife
title_suba novel
topic_facetElectronic books
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Literature
Roebling, Emily Warren
Roebling, Washington Augustus