Due to limitations imposed by the pandemic, we ask that you place no more than 20 holds per card.

The better liar: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Ballantine Books, [2020].
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Physical Desc:
306 pages ; 25 cm.
Status:
15 copies, 1 person is on the wait list.
North Branford/Atwater Adult Fiction - New
New Fiction Jones
Description
"Smart, sinister, and utterly engrossing--this debut delivers."--Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times bestselling author of Never Have I Ever When a woman conceals her sister's death to claim their joint inheritance, her deception exposes a web of dangerous secrets in this addictive new thriller for fans of Megan Abbott, Gillian Flynn, and Paula Hawkins. NAMED ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2020 BY Entertainment Weekly * New York Post * Lit Hub * Crime Reads * E! News * BookRiot * PopSugar * Hello GIggles "Like most of the dead, I want to be remembered." Robin Voigt is dead. If Leslie had arrived at her sister's cramped Las Vegas apartment just hours earlier, this would have been their first reunion in a decade. In the years since Robin ran away from home as a teenager, Leslie has stayed in New Mexico, taking care of their dying father even as she began building a family of her own. But when their father passed away, Leslie received a rude awakening: She and Robin would receive the inheritance he left them together--or not at all. Now her half of the money may be beyond her grasp. And unbeknownst to anyone, even her husband, Leslie needs it desperately. When she meets a charismatic young woman who bears an uncanny resemblance to Robin--and has every reason to leave her past behind--the two make a reckless bargain: Mary will impersonate Robin for a week in exchange for Robin's half of the cash. But neither realizes how high the stakes will become when Mary takes a dead woman's name. Even as Mary begins to suspect Leslie is hiding something, and Leslie realizes the stranger living in her house, babysitting her newborn son, and charming her husband has secrets of her own, Robin's wild, troubled legacy threatens to eclipse them both. An electric, twisted portrait of sisterhood and the ties that bind, The Better Liar is a stunning debut with a heart-stopping, twist-after-twist finale that will beg the question: How far would you go to get what's yours? Praise for The Better Liar "Jones' sensational debut has the bones of a thriller but reads like literary fiction: lean, shrewd, and gratifyingly real." -- Entertainment Weekly "Jones's debut novel is clever, absorbing, and full of red herrings. . . . A stunning twist ending will leave readers waiting to see what Jones will give them next." -- Booklist (starred review)
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
North Branford/Atwater Adult Fiction - New
New Fiction Jones
On Shelf
Location
Call Number
Status
Branford/Blackstone Adult Fiction
FIC.
Due Oct 9, 2020
Durham New Mystery
MYS JONES
Due Oct 1, 2020
East Lyme Public New Fiction
Jones, Tanen (Better)
Due Sep 30, 2020
Hamden/Miller New Adult Fiction
FIC/JONES
On Shelf
Hamden/Whitneyville Adult B&T Fiction
NEW/FIC/JONES
On Shelf
Ledyard/Bill New Fiction
F Jones
Due Oct 5, 2020
Meriden New Adult Fiction
FIC JONES
On Shelf
Middlefield/Coe Adult Collection
FIC SUS Jones
On Shelf
Middletown/Russell NEW Adult Fiction
FIC-JONES
Due Oct 5, 2020
North Haven Adult New Fiction
New Fiction Jones, Tanen
On Shelf
Old Saybrook/Acton Adult Fiction
F JONES
On Shelf
Orange/Case Adult Fiction Book
Fiction Jones
On Shelf
Stony Creek/Willoughby Wallace Adult Fiction
FIC JON
On Shelf
Woodbridge New Adult Fiction
FIC JONES
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781984821225, 1984821229

Notes

Description
"Robin Voigt is dead. If her sister Leslie had arrived at her cramped Las Vegas apartment just hours earlier, this would have been their first reunion in a decade. In the years since Robin ran away from home as a teenager, Leslie has stayed in New Mexico, taking care of their dying father, even as she began building a family of her own. But when their father passed away, Leslie received a rude awakening: she and Robin would receive the inheritance he left them together--or not at all. Now her half of the money may be beyond her grasp. And unbeknownst to anyone, even her husband, Leslie needs it desperately. When she meets a charismatic young woman who bears an uncanny resemblance to Robin--and has every reason to leave her past behind--the two make a reckless bargain: Mary will impersonate Robin for a week in exchange for Robin's half of the cash. But neither realizes how high the stakes will be when Mary takes a dead woman's name. Even as Mary begins to suspect Leslie is hiding something, and Leslie realizes the stranger living in her house, babysitting her newborn son, and charming her husband has secrets of her own, Robin's wild, troubled legacy threatens to eclipse them both. An electric, twisted portrait of sisterhood and the ties that bind, The Better Liar is a stunning debut with a heart-stopping, twist-after-twist finale that will beg the question: How far would you go to get what's yours?"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Jones, T. (2020). The better liar: a novel. First edition. New York: Ballantine Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Jones, Tanen. 2020. The Better Liar: A Novel. New York: Ballantine Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Jones, Tanen, The Better Liar: A Novel. New York: Ballantine Books, 2020.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Jones, Tanen. The Better Liar: A Novel. First edition. New York: Ballantine Books, 2020. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
b8bd41b5-f08d-54ee-cde7-5a359696f1f0
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeSep 21, 2020 12:21:45 PM
Last File Modification TimeSep 21, 2020 12:23:16 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeSep 22, 2020 09:54:25 AM

MARC Record

LEADER04751nam a2200565 i 4500
001sky296963757
003SKY
00520200110000000.0
008190808t20202017nyu    e      000 1 eng  
010 |a 2019034777
020 |a 9781984821225|q (hardcover)
020 |a 1984821229|q (hardcover)
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d SKYRV|d NB|d EL
042 |a pcc
08200|a 813/.6|2 23
1001 |a Jones, Tanen,|e author.
24514|a The better liar :|b a novel /|c Tanen Jones.
250 |a First edition.
264 1|a New York :|b Ballantine Books,|c [2020].
264 4|c ©2020.
300 |a 306 pages ;|c 25 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier.
520 |a "Robin Voigt is dead. If her sister Leslie had arrived at her cramped Las Vegas apartment just hours earlier, this would have been their first reunion in a decade. In the years since Robin ran away from home as a teenager, Leslie has stayed in New Mexico, taking care of their dying father, even as she began building a family of her own. But when their father passed away, Leslie received a rude awakening: she and Robin would receive the inheritance he left them together--or not at all. Now her half of the money may be beyond her grasp. And unbeknownst to anyone, even her husband, Leslie needs it desperately. When she meets a charismatic young woman who bears an uncanny resemblance to Robin--and has every reason to leave her past behind--the two make a reckless bargain: Mary will impersonate Robin for a week in exchange for Robin's half of the cash. But neither realizes how high the stakes will be when Mary takes a dead woman's name. Even as Mary begins to suspect Leslie is hiding something, and Leslie realizes the stranger living in her house, babysitting her newborn son, and charming her husband has secrets of her own, Robin's wild, troubled legacy threatens to eclipse them both. An electric, twisted portrait of sisterhood and the ties that bind, The Better Liar is a stunning debut with a heart-stopping, twist-after-twist finale that will beg the question: How far would you go to get what's yours?"--|c Provided by publisher.
650 0|a Sisters|v Fiction.
650 0|a False personation|v Fiction.
650 0|a Truthfulness and falsehood|v Fiction.
650 0|a Secrecy|v Fiction.
650 0|a Inheritance and succession|v Fiction.
655 7|a Suspense fiction.|2 gsafd.
655 7|a Thrillers (Fiction)|2 lcgft.
655 7|a Psychological fiction.|2 lcgft.
907 |a .b26345754|b 09-18-20|c 11-30-19
998 |a br|a du|a el|a (2)hm|a hw|a lb|a (2)me|a ml|a (2)md|a nb|a (2)nh|a (2)os|a or|a (2)st|a (2)wd|b 03-26-20|c m|d a |e -|f eng|g nyu|h 4|i 22
945 |a FIC. |g 1|h 10-09-20|i 20702974484|j 1|l braf |o -|p $28.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 6|v 0|w 6|x 0|y .i63830590|z 01-21-20
945 |a MYS JONES|g 1|h 10-01-20|i 22702187646|j 2|l dubm |o -|p $27.00|q -|r -|s - |t 137|u 4|v 2|w 4|x 0|y .i63814298|z 01-15-20
945 |a Jones, Tanen (Better)|g 1|h 09-30-20|i 20603530153|j 4|l elbf |n 01/23/2020 ELLF Plate.|o -|p $27.00|q -|r -|s - |t 0|u 5|v 2|w 5|x 0|y .i63912120|z 02-10-20
945 |a FIC/JONES |g 0|h  - - |i 31200200136488|j 35|l hmbf |n gift from Kenneth and Patricia Burr|o -|p $27.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 4|v 0|w 4|x 0|y .i63882152|z 02-01-20
945 |a NEW/FIC/JONES|g 0|h  - - |i 31200080936304|j 35|l hwafb|o -|p $27.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 3|v 0|w 3|x 0|y .i63718030|z 12-17-19
945 |a F Jones |g 0|h 10-05-20|i 20802700730|j 10|l lbbf |o -|p $27.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 2|v 1|w 2|x 0|y .i63866419|z 01-29-20
945 |a FIC JONES |g 0|h  - - |i 20905701189|j 12|l mebf |n 1/20 B&T 27.00/14.36|o -|p $14.36|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 2|v 3|w 2|x 0|y .i63869135|z 01-29-20
945 |a FIC SUS Jones |g 0|h  - - |i 34130000507660|j 36|l mla |o -|p $27.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 4|v 0|w 4|x 0|y .i63814973|z 01-16-20
945 |a FIC-JONES |g 1|h 10-05-20|i 21406696209|j 13|l mdbf |o -|p $27.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 5|v 1|w 5|x 0|y .i63824619|z 01-17-20
945 |a New Fiction Jones |g 1|h  - - |i 3 1278 00296 6989|j 26|l nbafn|n Atwater Library|o -|p $27.00|q -|r -|s - |t 0|u 4|v 1|w 4|x 0|y .i63801991|z 01-13-20
945 |a New Fiction Jones, Tanen |g 0|h  - - |i 31216004057167|j 28|l nhafn|o -|p $27.00|q -|r -|s - |t 167|u 2|v 1|w 2|x 0|y .i63910330|z 02-10-20
945 |a F JONES|g 0|h  - - |i 33520001377827|j 33|l osaf |o -|p $27.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 2|v 0|w 2|x 0|y .i63806940|z 01-14-20
945 |a Fiction Jones|g 1|h  - - |i 32159002314447|j 25|l oraf |n 1/20|o -|p $27.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 4|v 0|w 4|x 0|y .i63776613|z 01-07-20
945 |a FIC JON|g 0|h  - - |i 22300984873|j 18|l staf |o -|p $27.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 3|v 0|w 3|x 0|y .i63949350|z 02-19-20
945 |a FIC JONES|g 1|h  - - |i 21802648044|j 21|l wdbf |o -|p $27.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 3|v 2|w 3|x 0|y .i63893526|z 02-05-20